Committing to Happiness

Hello Again!

On my run this afternoon, I did a lot of thinking.  Runs are so great for self-reflection…I really think that running is one of the best types of therapy.  I used today’s run to think about all of the things that bring me happiness.  As I ran, I made a list that included working out, taking aimless walks, sitting in the sun, enjoying a hot cup of coffee, reading my Bible/daily devotional book, wandering around grocery stores, sitting in coffee shops, journaling, reading magazines, going to church…and it goes on.  My mind then moved to questioning why I don’t make a greater effort to incorporate all of those things into my daily life.  With the execption of working out, which I do 5 days a week,  I don’t do any of the other things on a daily basis.  It’s not that I don’t have time, it’s that I am stuck in my typical routine and live passively rather than actively changing my routine.  In the morning, for instance, I could wake up a little bit earlier and read my Bible or go to mass.  Instead of sitting on my computer in my apartment in the afternoon when I don’t have class, I could go to a coffee shop or sit outside.  At night, I always sit on my couch, do homework on my computer, or watch TV.  While it is fine to do all of those things for a few hours, why don’t I take a break and go for a leisurely walk or read a magazine or my daily devotional book?  I don’t have a good answer other than that I am being lazy about my happiness.  I have the ability to make myself happier and fill my days with the things that bring me joy and it’s time to use it.  Instead of continuing my lackluster routine, I’m going to step up and make the change.  Writing this post has allowed me to acknowledge my behavior and develop a plan for improvement.  I’m going to make a few smart goals for myself and report back on a weekly basis about how I’m doing.  It’s go time, my friends, and you can help keep me accountable!  🙂 Here’s to a summer of greater happiness!

Let’s Grow Together questions:

1. What brings happiness and fulfillment to your day?

2. When and where do you do your best thinking and self-reflection?

3. Is there anything that is part of your daily routine that you don’t really like or wish that you did differently?

4 thoughts on “Committing to Happiness

  1. I am the same way, I definitely know what brings me happiness but I just don’t make time for them in my daily life. For me happiness comes from moving my body, laughing with friends, getting some alone down time and cross stitching. This is such a great post and kind of what we all need to hear in our hectic lives.

  2. I agree, runs are a great way to reflect. Sometimes I wish I had a brain taperecorder on my run because its like my brain wants to tell me SOO many important things while I am running! That is great you are going to step out of your routine to find more happiness. For me (being a Christian) I find my happiness is Christ and the satisfaction I feel knowing he is always with me. So happy to find your blog! 🙂

    • Yes, yes, and yes to everything you said! A brain tape recorder for runs would be perfect! I can’t imagine how I ever would have made it this far through the recovery process without Christ. Knowing that He loves me and reminding myself about what He thinks is important always helps me get through the tough days. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

